Follow by Email

Monday, May 14, 2018

Advocate For All Books At These 12 Outlets




Writing an op-ed or a letter-to-the-editor is a great way to get your voice heard at leading newspapers, magazines, and select websites.  You not only can get your opinions published, you can use these vehicles to mention your book if it’s relevant to the topic you are sharing your views on.  But these media outlets can also be your vehicle to advocate for books, writers, and publishing.

What should you write about that would cover a relevant issue?

1.      Literacy
Showing support for more people to read more books.

2.      Bookstores
Championing support for local bookstores.

3.      Free Speech
Advocating that people support the First Amendment and protesting book bans.

4.      Author Rights
Speaking out for things writers need or want.

5.      Libraries
Supporting them financially.

You can write to the following 12 media outlets:

New York Times
Op-ed – Jim Dao, dao@nytimes.com; oped@nytimes.com
Letters – Tom Feyer, letters@nytimes.com Mary Drohan, drohan@nytimes.com.
Editorial – listing of editorial page writes by topic can be found here.

LA Times
Op-ed – Juliet Lapidos, juliet.lapidos@latimes.com; oped@latimes.com,

The Hill (& Congress Blog)
Op-ed – Kelsey Rupp, krupp@thehill.com; opinion@thehill.com
Letters – letters@thehill.com

Politico
Op-ed - Stephen Heuser, The Agenda Editor, sheuser@politico.com.

USA Today
Letters– Michelle Poblete, mpoblete@usatoday.com.

Wall Street Journal
Op-ed – Howard Dickman, howard.dickman@wsj.com; Kate Bachelder, kate.bachelder@wsj.com
Letters – Tim Lemmer, wsj.ltrs@wsj.com

Washington Post
Op-ed - Michael Larabee (main op-ed editor). larabeem@washpost.com; Adam Kushner, (Outlook + Post Everything editor), adam.kushner@washpost.com; Jamie Riley Kolsky (local opinions), jamie.rileykolsky@washpost.com
Letters –; Jamie Riley Kolsky jamie.rileykolsky@washpost.com; letters@washpost.com

Bloomberg View

Boston Globe
Op-ed – Marjorie Pritchard, m_pritchard@globe.com; oped@globe.com
Letters – Matt Bernstein, letters@globe.com

Chicago Tribune
Op-ed – Marcia Lythcott, mlythcott@tribune.com; Bruce Dold, bdold@chicagotribune.com 

Reuters

Christian Science Monitor
Op-ed – Tessa Parmenter submission form (*currently only accepting energy-related voices)
Letters– letters@csps.com

Good luck in getting the word out for books -- for yours and everyone's.


Check These Posts Out
For Self-Promoting Authors: The 2018 Book Marketing & PR Toolkit

This is HOW you get a book review

How you can FIX a broken PR campaign for a book

Instead of worrying about book sales, authors must take action now!

Which media outlets really move books?


Brian Feinblum’s insightful views, provocative opinions, and interesting ideas expressed in this terrific blog are his alone and not that of his employer or anyone else. You can – and should -- follow him on Twitter @theprexpert and email him at brianfeinblum@gmail.com. He feels much more important when discussed in the third-person. This is copyrighted by BookMarketingBuzzBlog © 2018. Born and raised in Brooklyn, he now resides in Westchester. His writings are often featured in The Writer and IBPA’s Independent.  This was named one of the best book marketing blogs by Book Baby http://blog.bookbaby.com/2013/09/the-best-book-marketing-blogs and recognized by Feedspot in 2018 as one of the top book marketing blogs. Also named by WinningWriters.com as a "best resource.”

1 comment: