Follow by Email

Sunday, November 4, 2018

Market Your Books Like Whitey Bulger’s Killer



Notorious Boston crime boss and FBI informant Whitey Bulger was recently killed on the first day at a prison he was transferred to.  The 89-year-old snitch and serial murderer was bludgeoned to death beyond recognition by a man wielding a lock-in-a-sock.  Could authors and book marketers learn from this ingenuity?

Now, I’m not here to glorify violence or even discuss the justice involved in Whitey’s life or death, but I merely point out that this attack shows how one can get a job done with few resources.  Book promoters need to be as scrappy and savvy.

Think about it.  The guy who assassinated Bulger had to:

·         Feel driven and motivated to act
·         Be goal-oriented
·         Have a plan
·         Work his network to smuggle in a lock
·         Had to arrange for meeting Bulger at the right time
·         Had to have the courage to carry out his convictions

Again, I don’t want to honor a killer, everyone who killed a killer, but I merely point out the resolve and skill needed to do what others had failed to do over the years.  Authors need to think about what it is they want to accomplish, tap into their network, make use of their resources, come up with a plan and eventually step up and take concrete action.

Prison can simplify a person’s life.  The prisoners divide every experience by one rule:  Will what I say or do lead to me living another day?  Everything gets filtered through this basic mantra.  You, as an author, should have a mantra that goes something like:  What can I do today to market my dream?

Judge and filter all of your actions through the prism of this mantra.  Are you doing something so that you advance your book?  Are you calling upon all that’s available to you?  Are you taking a risk?  Are you properly thinking your plan through?

Probably another skill prisoners have is that of focus and concentration.  They don’t have much else to distract them from keeping their eye on the prize.  Survival is rule number 1,2, 3 and infinity.  Authors must zone out distractions, escapes, other needs and desires, or even other people.  Focus on what you are trying to accomplish and visualize what it will take to turn a thought into a reality, a vision into an existence.

Meditate on your goals.  Think about little else.  Put all of your heart and soul, mind and body, hopes and happiness into your book.  Direct all of your energy, knowledge, and network of support to only fuel your book marketing efforts.  Leave doubt and uncertainty to the side.  Only one thing matters right now, making your book a success.

It’s time to wield your lock-in-a-sock (not literally) – and knock out your opposition and challenges.  Go for what’s within your reach – and just beyond it.


DON”T MISS THESE!!!
How Smart Book Marketing Decisions Are Made

How to have a successful book

Book Blog Post #3,000

What do authors want to hear about book publicity?

Why authors can’t rely on ads to market their books and brand

How to craft a brief message for long books

Why authors need coaches, just like athletes

Know the media’s purpose in order to have them cover your book

How do you find more book reviewers?

Valuable Info On Book Marketing Landscape For First-Time Authors

Scores of Best-Selling Book PR Tips from Book Expo PR Panel


Brian Feinblum’s insightful views, provocative opinions, and interesting ideas expressed in this terrific blog are his alone and not that of his employer or anyone else. You can – and should -- follow him on Twitter @theprexpert and email him at brianfeinblum@gmail.com. He feels much more important when discussed in the third-person. This is copyrighted by BookMarketingBuzzBlog © 2018. Born and raised in Brooklyn, he now resides in Westchester. His writings are often featured in The Writer and IBPA’s Independent.  This was named one of the best book marketing blogs by Book Baby http://blog.bookbaby.com/2013/09/the-best-book-marketing-blogs and recognized by Feedspot in 2018 as one of the top book marketing blogs. Also named by WinningWriters.com as a "best resource.” He recently hosted a panel on book publicity for Book Expo America and participated in a PR panel at the Sarah Lawrence College Writers Institute Conference.

16 comments:

  1. I am sure you see the trend here... Commercial Mortgage Financing can be used in practically any industry for any kind of commercial property. Speak with your Business Finance Broker when you are ready to invest in a Commercial Real estate opportunity. www.financetypes.us

    ReplyDelete
  2. Make use of a travel agent that provides travel deals for handicapped travelers. Booking plane tickets and rooms in hotels with journey agents that provide travel methods to disabled individuals is advantageous in many ways. They make sure they book for his or her disabled customers airlines as well as hotels which are disabled pleasant. They make an effort to offer providers and suggestions which will ensure their own clients journey comfortably. www.bestadventuretravel.us

    ReplyDelete
  3. One of the biggest competitions of today is staying fit. It seems like people nowadays want to lose weight instantly as if there is no tomorrow or it is as if it is a passport for the general population. Losing weight and staying fit is never easy. www.healthandworkoutplan.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. The laws of nature are just as they treat every specie (and not only man) with equality. In a jungle, every specie gets its due share of food, air and water which enable them to live a dignified life without being dependent on any other creation. Nature makes no distinction between one specie, and the other as all species are the children of the same God. www.lawinformation.us

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am certain you begin to see the trend right here... Commercial Home loan Financing may be used in virtually any business for any type of commercial home. Speak together with your Business Finance Broker when you're ready to purchase a Commercial Property opportunity. www.mybusinessplan.us

    ReplyDelete
  6. You will see all styles and models of fashion blogs as being the internet is stuffed with them. It can take a look at the advantages of wearing lean jeans through boyfriend bluejeans or the best way pink takes the destination of dark colored plus many of the extras. Just like you go internet, you receives your fill of your latest popular trends as a result of fashion blogs. www.stylesbeautytips.com

    ReplyDelete
  7. Real estate shareholders live in addition to die by means of their chance to add importance. With not any added importance, there usually are no gains. This applies with almost any business, but what makes real estate a really great business as well as a great investment decision, is the volume of ways you can contribute value and benefit from big gains. www.realestatevalley.us

    ReplyDelete
  8. Health fitness tips also recommend that vices should be stopped. Smoking predisposes one to vascular conditions such as arteriosclerosis and heart diseases. Alcohol consumption need not be eliminated but should be limited to 30 jiggers a day only. Alcohol still has health benefits such as vasodilation. These are just some of what Health fitness tips recommend www.healthyactivities.us

    ReplyDelete
  9. Insurance can be synonymous to a lot people expressing risks involving losses expected coming from a supposed car accident. Here, the price of your losses are going to be borne by the many insurers. www.insuranceguider.us

    ReplyDelete
  10. Discomfort heard this argument intended for spending far more now with quality just to save money in the future. But why not consider the impression your purchase has on the earth, shouldn't shopping ethically participate in the talk too? www.servicesexpert.us

    ReplyDelete
  11. Health fitness ideas also suggest that vices ought to be stopped. Smoking predisposes someone to vascular conditions for example arteriosclerosis as well as heart illnesses. Alcohol consumption do not need to be removed but ought to be limited in order to 30 jiggers each day only. Alcohol nevertheless has many benefits such because vasodilation. These are are just some of what Health fitness ideas recommend www.healthimprove.us

    ReplyDelete
  12. Traveling, for individuals with disabilities, is extremely hectic, particularly when they get to the airport terminal. They face the process of obtaining proper info and instructions. This is actually further aggravated through the huge number of individuals traveling as well as long lists. In international airports, there tend to be attendants which are supposed for carrying on the needs of these travelling along with disabilities. www.safetravelguide.us

    ReplyDelete
  13. I know you start to see the trend the following... Commercial Mortgage loan Financing can be utilized in almost any market for almost any commercial house. Speak along with your Business Finance Broker if you are ready to buy a Commercial Real-estate opportunity. www.financialgrow.us

    ReplyDelete
  14. Hi There
    Very Nice Blog
    Guys if you want to rank on google of your business target audiounce then click our website
    target ads

    ReplyDelete